Header image  
A travelling circus  
 
 
Just journey with them  

HDV to Bluray, 29'20'', Pal, colour, stereo 2009
Languages: Lowgerman, English, Pidgin, 
Subtitles: D, EN, NL

"Dorothy always says, ‘it's like in the Old Testament: It´s a journey. Life is a journey. Just journey with them." (Sister Bernardis)


Sister Bernardis and sister Dorothy are on tour throughout the US with a big circus. They live in a caravan and run a Christian community service they have dubbed the "ministry of presence".
Sister Bernard was born in 1944 as Hildegard Overkamp in the Westmünsterland and entered the Order of the Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart in 1965 in Muenster-Hiltrup. From 1968 til 1993 she lived in Papua New Guinea, where she taught indigenous women home economics. After 25 years, she concluded the locals can cope without her help and completed her mission. "I didn´t want to be an obstacle in the way they live their culture," she says.
Since 2000, she and her colleague Sister Dorothy have been on the road with a circus. Starting with a small family circus in 2005, they moved on to America's oldest and largest circus Ringling bros. As employees Sister Bernard takes care of the dancers´ wardrobe while Sister Dorothy teaches English to circus children. They offer Christians a community life, but also lend an ear to non-Christians. Also, they are well-aware of the PR role they play.
The video gives an insight into the objectives and the daily lives of two sisters on the road and in the circus; the constant constant building and breaking of the show, the journeying and the show itself. Behind the scenes we are witness of the numerous meetings of colleagues and the sisters tell about their motivation for joining this mission.
In 2010 sister Bernard turns 66. If the caravan holds out, she wants to stay stay with the circus at least one more season.

 

Just journey with them03

Just journey with them
Just journey with them02

Header image  
Ein installatives Wanderzirkusprojekt  
 
 
Just journey with them  

HDV auf BLU-RAY, 29’20’’, Pal, Farbe, stereo 2009
Sprache: Niederdeutsch, Englisch, Pidgin; UT: D, E, NL

“Dorothy sagt immer, es ist wie im Alten Testament:
Es ist ein Reisen. Das Leben ist eine Reise. Reise mit ihnen!” (Sr. Bernardis)
Schwester Bernardis und Schwester Dorothy arbeiten in einem großen Zirkus und reisen mit ihm durch die USA. Sie leben im Wohnwagen und praktizieren eine Seelsorge der Nähe, die sie "Ministry of presence" nennen.
Sister Bernard wurde 1944 als Hildegard Overkamp im Westmünsterland geboren. Sie trat 1965 dem Orden der Missionsschwestern vom Heiligsten Herzen Jesu in Münster-Hiltrup bei. Sie lebte von 1968 bis 1993 in Papua-Neuguinea, wo sie einheimische Frauen in Hauswirtschaftskunde unterrichtete. Nach 25 Jahren beendete sie ihre Mission dort, weil die Einheimischen ihrer Meinung nach auch ohne sie zurecht kamen: „Ich wollte kein Hindernis sein, wenn die ihre Kultur nicht ausleben können,“ sagt sie.
Seit dem Jahr 2000 reist sie gemeinsam mit ihrer Kollegin Schwester Dorothy mit einem Zirkus. Sie fingen bei einem kleinen Familienzirkus an und sind seit 2005 bei Amerikas grösstem und ältestem Zirkus, bei Ringling. Als Mitarbeiterin kümmert sich Sister Bernard um die Garderobe der Tänzerinnen, Sister Dorothy unterrichtet Englisch für die Zirkuskinder. Beide wollen den gläubigen Christen ein Gemeindeleben ermöglichen, aber auch für Nicht-Christen ein offenes Ohr und Herz haben. Dabei ist ihnen bewußt, dass sie für den Zirkus auch PR-Funktionen haben.
Das Video gibt Einblicke in die Ziele und den Alltag der beiden Schwestern auf Reisen und im Zirkus.Es zeigt die Arbeit des ständigen Auf- und Abbauens, die Reise und die Show. Beim Besuch hinter den Kulissen gibt es zahlreiche Begegnungen mit den KollegInnen im Zirkus und beide Schwestern erzählen von ihrer Motivation für diese Mission.
2010 wird Sister Bernard 66 Jahre alt. Wenn der Wohnwagen durchhält, will sie noch mindestens eine Saison beim Zirkus bleiben.

 

Just journey with them03

Just journey with them
Just journey with them02